How to learn Engineering

drakuba

Question

tldr: New player here, would like to learn how to be engineer

Hi, im a new player (i started playing on 27. 3. 2018 so green as you can get) and i would like to learn engineering. I started playing as an assistant, got to try a bartender and cook, now i spend most of my games as a janitor because i now what to do. But it feels kinda boring... i usualy get to read how station is descending into a shit, but i never feel like it because im either at my worklpace and/or RP reasons dont allow me to go toward danger (read fun areas where something is happening). So i tried engineering aprentice job, but found out that i dont know shit.I couldnt even put floor back together. I was told by head engineer one game to follow "this guy" and learn, but because station went to hell pretty fast, he had no time or didnt feel like it, to talk what hes doing or how he do it. I even looked for guides, but they are either too general, i didnt understand almost anything in them(since i dont know the game) or are nonexistant in the first place. I felt so useless, it discouraged me from trying it for the third time.

So i would like to ask, how did you guys learned all those things? Did you just goofed around and eventualy learned it? Did you had someone to teach you? I was browsing this forum for about 3 hours, but i couldnt find a guide for a starting engineer. I was also thinking on medic or security, but as a CNC machinist-turner in real life, i have closer to engineering. And i would like to know even basics, how to click on what with what, which buttos etc. i found some "do this then this, lastly this and your done" guides, but again, no idea what that meant. ANd because i want to RP as well, it does not feel right to ignore everything, join as engineer and frolick around, mess with things while others try to gave a fun game.