The HRP setting and being 'ready for anything'

This might read as more of a rant or ramble than an organised series of thoughts, but I started playing earlier this week after a fairly long break and even after just a handful of rounds, I'm already kind of struck by the sheer level of hyperfixated preparedness and dedication to optimisation that permeates Aurora culture & gameplay nowadays. It might be hitting me particularly acutely as an engineering main these days, but you genuinely cannot have anything go wrong on the ship at all for more than maybe five minutes without at least one (usually two or more) people taking off like a missile to fix it as quickly as humanly possible.

I don't really think this is a new problem by any means -- I could name more than a few players who have always approached their Aurora jobs like they're genuinely getting paid to fix the ninth issue of rampant brand intelligence this shift -- but it's striking how bad it feels to play alongside, at least for me. Do people really enjoy pre-emptively optimising all the possibility for things to go wrong out of the round as quickly and efficiently as they can, and then furthermore swarming all over any tiny issues that do crop up anyway? You could break a window in the chapel on highpop these days and if someone called it out you'd have three engineers minimum showing up to squabble over who gets to click the window frame with some reinforced glass.