Heya, peoples.

I have no idea if this thread idea has been done, but as I'm sittin' here at actual work, I started wondering about languages.

So here's what I wanna see, perhaps.

State your native tongue, and any other languages you speak. Preferably written as it would be IN that language, with the English name/spelling in brackets beside it.

While it might be kinda hard to quantify what counts as "being able to speak", I say you don't really need to be fluent, per se, but you should be able to hold a basic conversation without looking at google translate. Maybe say how well you can speak secondary languages, such as if you're just learning or whatever.

I'll start.

My mother tongue is English (Canadian, cuz that matters, right?)

日本語もはなします。(I also speak Japanese, which I've been learning for the past two years)

This is just for fun, and cuz I'm curious.

Rusty knows a wide variety of dialects that allows him to efficiently communicate with the many peoples of the world via the spoken word.

English:

oi, wut r u lookin at m8, ur a cheeky lil cunt ill give u that m8, ill hook ya in da gabba i swear on me mum

Spanish:

Chinga tu madre, puto malcreado!

French:

Omelette du fromage.

Italian:

Spicy+meatball+found+on+tumblr_e8d19e_4782374.png

Here's my list.

English, Obviously.

واللغة العربية (And Arabic)

בנוסף לעברית (In addition to Hebrew)

Parli Provençal, pr'amor que de rasons (Also Provençal, because Reasons)

Euv Romansh (And Romansh)

русский тоже (Russian Too)

粤语是很好的学习太 (Cantonese was fun to learn too)

Dansk var interessant samt (Danish was interesting as-well)

Ek praat Afrikaans, ietwat (I speak Afrikaans...somewhat)

Я хорошо понимаю русский язик. Например, я могу свободно смотреть русское телевидение.

I understand Russian well. For example, I can watch Russian TV with no trouble.

L'année dernière j'ai donné des directions à un homme français. C'était vraiment passionnant.

Last year I gave directions to a French guy. It was truly exciting!