Coder Application - Wildkins

Ckey/BYOND Username: JohnWildkins

Discord Name: Wildkins#8123

Position Being Applied For: (coder, mapper, spriter): Coder

Past Experiences/Knowledge: 

• BYOND: ~2-3 weeks of basic research into the codebase, and then shoving myself into every open issue I can get my hands on.
  • Other: 
    • Graduating senior, attaining my B.S. in Computer Science w/ focus on Cybersecurity and Web Development
    • Experience in Python (incl. Django/Flask), Java, JS, and SQL-based DBMS

Examples of Past Work:

Additional Comments:

Obviously I’m still pretty new to both the community and BYOND, but I’ve thrown myself in at the deep end to try and make up for lost time. For me, seeking a developer position is mostly a convenience factor to better amplify my efforts - addressing issues promptly, fixing up quality of life where possible, and attending to user suggestions where appropriate. Things as simple as a vaguely shiny name and ability to throw icons on an issue tracker are honestly very valuable to this end. Furthermore, as I grow in knowledge and ability, I want to try my hand at tackling some of the larger, more pervasive issues in mechanics - but doing so without close partnership with the developers and heads will surely be an exercise in frustration.

Hello,

As a certified CM addict, I only barely play here on Aurora but I take credit for bringing Wildkins here. I've known him for a long time now (since 2013? 2014) and he's always been nothing short of enthusiastic and personable when he gets involved in something. The poor guy is highRP as heck but barely even plays, as far as I know, because he's so busy staying up until 6am or something chasing bugs that he doesn't have time. Either that or he genuinely enjoys it, which is frankly frightening.

Anyway, I don't think my vouch counts for jack but I feel at least a bit compelled to say that he's a bright spark with an obvious flair for coding, and you'd be mad to deny him.